Home » DINNIS » The Royal Sussex Regiment

The Royal Sussex Regiment

I had an amazing day yesterday, and thought I’d share it. Remembering back to my mother’s mysterious wooden box with the badge of the Royal Sussex Regiment engraved on the top and also knowing my father fought in the Royal Sussex Regiment during World War 2, I went searching for more information about this Regiment.

I spent most of the day going back and forth online, searching one lead then another, but never quite coming up with what I wanted. I stopped for a cup of tea and a look at my email. And what do you know! I spend all day looking for The Royal Sussex Regiment, and in the end - The Royal Sussex Regiment found me. I love it when that happens!

Gordon Charles Dinnis as featured on the website orangelily

Gordon Charles Dinnis as featured on the website www.theorangelily.jimdo.com

The email was from the administrator for the Regimental websites, who had served in the Royal Sussex Regiment himself. He has added my Dad to the photographic nominal roll, so he will not be forgotten. My Mum would also be delighted that her wooden box has been added to the ‘Artifacts’ section of the website! The picture above is taken from the website, which can be found here:

http://theorangelily.jimdo.com/def

I have had a wonderful time looking around this site, and I thought perhaps my family and friends might be interested in knowing Gordon is remembered here.

1 Comment

  1. Jackie, how wonderful! What a “coincidence”! On another note, just for the record, I am going to be happy when the snowfall is over on WordPress. It isn’t so hot for migrainey people . . . .

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 180 other followers

Categories

Top Posts & Pages

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

