Mothering Sunday

Today is Mother’s Day, and it makes me look backwards and forwards at the same time as I think of my mother, as well as my own children and being so thankful for them. I got out some old photographs of my mother and realised how much she looked like her own mother when they were both children. What do you think?

My mother, Enid May Dinnis

My mother, Enid May Dinnis

My grandmother - May Annie Doris Cockett, known as Queenie

My grandmother – May Annie Doris Cockett, known as Queenie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looking at these two photographs I see such a similarity between the two of them. And even when they were older, the likeness remained.

Enid

Enid

 

Queenie

Queenie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, today I remember my mother, and her mother and send love to them both.

In two days time it will be the anniversary of my mother’s birth, on March the 8th 1927, and I wish to remember that today, also.

mumdad9

yellow flowers 1

 

 

About Jackie Dinnis

Welcome to my blog where I am enjoying meeting my family - past and present - one at a time. Join me as I learn who my ancestors were, where they lived, what their occupations were and what everyday life was like for them.
This entry was posted in Enid May Howells, Queenie Cockett and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment