Searching for old friends – Karen Slade

I am trying to find my old friends, and one of these is Karen Slade. She lived a few doors away from me in Farm Hill and was a year or so older than me. We both went to Woodingdean Primary School and we would play together all the time.

Here are some photos of her.

Karen is on the right, with me behind her, next to my Dad

Karen is on the right, with me behind her, next to my Dad

Here I am sitting on a fence, my legs astride Karen!

Here I am sitting on a fence, my legs astride Karen!

Here we are in our Girls Brigade uniform, in my front garden. I am on the right, Karen on the left.

Here we are in our Girls Brigade uniform, in my front garden. I am on the right, Karen on the left.

My birthday party, with Karen standing at the back on the left. I am seated, second from left.

My birthday party, with Karen standing at the back on the left. I am seated, second from left.

About Jackie Dinnis

Welcome to my blog where I am enjoying meeting my family - past and present - one at a time. Join me as I learn who my ancestors were, where they lived, what their occupations were and what everyday life was like for them.
This entry was posted in jackiedinnis and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Searching for old friends – Karen Slade

  1. Liz Bolloten says:

    Hi jackie, she was one of my best friends too… Would so love to find her xx

    • Hi Liz, I’m sure if we keep looking we’ll find some news of her! I didn’t realise you were friends with her too, she was probably in your year at school because she was older than me. I think her parents divorced and they all moved away round about the time we went to secondary school in the late 1960s.

      • Liz Bolloten says:

        Hi jackie. Yeh we were really close friends for ages and then she moved away. i can’t remember now where to. I know we wrote to each other for a while but then we lost touch..

      • Oh wow, you wrote to each other! Writing letters is dying out isn’t it? But I love writing letters! All these online messages just don’t seem the same and won’t last! I have your address – I should write to you sometime! xxx

      • Liz Bolloten says:

        Ooh yes please Jackie! Let’s hear it for old fashioned letters!! X

  2. Where have you searched for her? I have found old friends by searching the newspaper archives. If you know her parents name try searching for them. If they are deceased and you find obituary, that may give you her married name (if she married). Or even if you find her parents or a brother, you could contact them to find her. Good Luck!

    • Hi Gail, I had never thought of searching newspaper archives! Thank you so much for sharing that idea, I shall enjoy myself online this weekend trying to find some news of my lost friend! Her parents divorced in the late 1960s, she moved away with her mother and we lost touch. At that time she had no brothers or sisters, we were around 12 years old. Thanks again for the really helpful idea!

Leave a comment