Easter Peace be yours

I have been looking through my collection of old postcards and greetings cards and I found this lovely one that was sent 98 years ago!

Easter cardIt is a postcard, and on the reverse it is dated the 29th of March 1918. Given that World War 1 ended some eight months after this date I was very interested to read the message. Would there be any news of the war? Family news? Here is the message:

“Dear Gertie, I should have sent this off tomorrow if there had been a post on Sunday at Hulland. How are you all and what news? I have been to the Dr with my cold, he told me the other day to go home and get to bed. I think it is a wee bit better. Love , Mary”

 

It was sent to Miss Gertie Smedley at Barrow Moor Farm, Hulland, Derby. Not even a ‘Happy Easter’ to go with the beautiful card! Although given the date I suppose celebrating Easter would have been low on people’s priorities.

The postage stamp is a halfpenny one, with King George V on it. I don’t know who the correspondents are, I can’t remember where I bought the card. I just really love the image of the lily of the valley flowers, the sheep and sheepdog.

And the message on the front of the card is still one I wish you today:

“Easter Peace be yours”

About Jackie Dinnis

Welcome to my blog where I am enjoying meeting my family - past and present - one at a time. Join me as I learn who my ancestors were, where they lived, what their occupations were and what everyday life was like for them.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Letters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Easter Peace be yours

Leave a comment