My Family Spreads to New Zealand

Searching for my ancestors has mainly been done via this blog and on ancestry.co.uk. Today when I took a quick peek at the latest interest on my family tree I found a lovely photograph of someone from my mother’s past.

John Alfred Slow 1834 - 1889

John Alfred Slow
1834 – 1889

It has taken me a while to really understand who this is, and what relationship he is to me! I haven’t really grasped it yet, but here is what I know!

My great-grandfather, William Cockett (1852 – 1905) had an uncle (his mother’s brother) and this is John Alfred Slow.

He married his wife, Anne in  June 1874 in Wairau Valley, Blenheim, New Zealand and they had their first child in October 1874. this was Frances Annie Slow.

The photograph was posted by Michelle, who is the great-granddaughter of John Alfred Slow and who lives in New Zealand! The search continues.

About Jackie Dinnis

Welcome to my blog where I am enjoying meeting my family - past and present - one at a time. Join me as I learn who my ancestors were, where they lived, what their occupations were and what everyday life was like for them.
This entry was posted in COCKETT and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment