ATS Badges and Photographs

Here are a few pictures of badges, memorabilia and photographs from Nancy Dora Dinnis’ time in the ATS (Auxiliary Territorial Service) 1942 – 1946

 

ATS badge

ATS badge

 

ATS badge

ATS badge

ATS badges 010

June 1945 at Bristol. Nancy is third from left on the back row. The Gym Class

June 1945 at Bristol. Nancy is third from left on the back row. The Gym Class

Lance Corporal Nancy Dora Dinnis

Lance Corporal Nancy Dora Dinnis

ATS badges 002

3 April 1942 4 Platoon B Company No 7 Training Centre Nancy on second row 4 from right

3 April 1942
4 Platoon B Company
No 7 Training Centre
Nancy on second row 4 from right

August 1942 Nancy Dora Dinnis with her father Joseph Taylor Dinnis

August 1942
Nancy Dora Dinnis with her father Joseph Taylor Dinnis

Nancy Dinnis on left

Nancy Dinnis on left

February 1946 Nancy front row far right

February 1946
Nancy front row far right

 

 

About Jackie Dinnis

Welcome to my blog where I am enjoying meeting my family - past and present - one at a time. Join me as I learn who my ancestors were, where they lived, what their occupations were and what everyday life was like for them.
This entry was posted in Nancy Dora Dinnis, World War 2 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ATS Badges and Photographs

  1. colin says:

    Hi Jackie,

    my mother Doris Hall from straford east London, was in 2 platoon A company No 7 training center. round about 1941/42, doing her A.T.S training. Before going to work at a deciphering center typing up the income messages. Have you any information about this company from your researching. she did say she trained or worked near Guildford.

    • Hi Colin, hopefully my cousin Sue will pick up on this chat and might know something? I will get my records out again and have a look over the weekend and get back to you soon.

  2. Hi Colin, I’ve looked back at all my information regarding my Auntie (Nancy Dinnis) and can’t find any additional data that might help you. I would suggest you look at the site http://www.atsremembered.org.uk/index.htm and read each entry for the ‘Personal Testimonies’ to try and see if anyone mentioned your mother by name, or by the specific Company you mention. The website won’t put you in touch with anyone, but you might find more information. Also if you add your mother’s information to the site, someone might see it and get back to you. I assume you have read my posts about Nancy here: http://jackiedinnis.com/2015/10/04/women-at-war-the-war-years-of-nancy-dora-dinnis-part-one/ There also follows parts 2,3 and 4. Part 1 has the photograph of Nancy in her company but this isn’t the same as your mother’s so I don’t suppose you recognise your mother in the photo. Good luck, don’t give up because something will eventually turn up 🙂

Leave a comment